The Foundation’s three organs are the Foundation Board, the Scientific Committee and the Administrative Office. The FSM is financed by industry (Swisscom, Sunrise and Orange) and supported by the ETH Zurich. One-off grants have been received from the City of Zurich, ewz and the Hasler Foundation. Our events are sponsored by ENKOM AG and the following federal offices: FOEN, FOPH and OFCOM. An external body, the Scientific Committee, decides on the research funding awards. Our financial backers are not members of the Scientific Committee nor are they informed about the Committee’s deliberations. This firewall guarantees the absolute independence of all funding decisions.


    Foundation Board

    In addition to scientists (four university representatives) there is a representative from each of the industrial sponsors, the federal authorities (FOEN, FOPH and OFCOM) and the NGOs (Konsumentenforum kf, Schweizer Heimatschutz, Krebsliga Schweiz, Ingenieure Hospital Schweiz, Verband Schweizerischer Elektrizitätsunternehmen).

    The Foundation Board elects members of the Scientific Committee, determines the research funding and Administrative Office’s budget, deals with appeals from project applicants and decides on whether or not researchers should be excluded from project funding in the case of gross breaches of contract.

    Michael Siegrist

    Prof. Dr. Michael Siegrist 

    Präsident des Stiftungsrates
    ETH Zürich Institute for Environmental Decisions
    CHN J 76.3
    Universitätsstrasse 16
    CH-8092 Zürich ETH-Zentrum

    Phone: 044/ 632 63 21
    Fax: 044/ 632 10 29

    Jürg Baumann

    Dr. Jürg Baumann 

    Abteilung Lärm und NIS
    Sektion Nichtionisierende Strahlung
    CH-3003 Bern

    Phone: 031/ 322 69 64
    Fax: 031/ 324 01 37

    Hugo Lehmann

    Dr. Hugo Lehmann 

    Swisscom AG
    Head Mobile Access & Testlab STS 121
    CH-3050 Bern Swisscom

    Phone: 079/ 616 04 32
    Fax: 031/ 892 39 17

    Jürg Leuthold

    Prof. Dr. Jürg Leuthold 

    ETH Zürich
    Institut für Elektromagnetische Felder (IEF)
    Gloriastrasse 35, ETZ K 81
    CH-8092 Zürich

    Phone: 044/ 633-8010
    Fax: 044/ 632 11 98

    Rolf Marti

    Dr. rer. nat. Rolf Marti 

    Krebsliga Schweiz
    Geschäftsführer der Stiftung Krebsforschung Schwei
    Postfach 8219
    Effingerstrasse 40
    CH-3001 Bern

    Phone: 031/ 389 91 45
    Fax: 031/ 389 91 60

    Martin Röösli

    Prof. Dr. Martin Röösli 

    Schweizer. Tropen- und Public Health-Institut
    Assoziiertes Institut der Universität Basel
    Leiter des Bereichs Umwelt & Gesundheit
    Socinstrasse 59
    CH-4051 Basel

    Phone: 061/ 284 83 83
    Fax: 061/ 284 81 05

    Scientific Committee

    The Scientific Committe of the Foundation consists of 8 persons in maximum. Apart from a delegate of the Foundation Board (that must not be an industry, NGO or authority representative) and the Executive Officer of the Foundation, the Committee consists of up to 6 external experts from Academia.

    The Scientific Committee has the following duties and competences:

    • Evaluation of the incoming research proposals
    • Selection of external reviewers, if required
    • Decision taking about research funding
    • Advocate of funding decisions
    Peter Achermann

    Prof. Dr. Peter Achermann 

    Universität Zürich
    Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie
    Winterthurerstrasse 190
    CH-8057 Zürich

    Phone: 044/ 635 59 54
    Fax: 044/ 635 57 07

    Urs Dahinden

    Prof. Dr. habil. Urs Dahinden 

    Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft HTW Chur
    Schweiz.Institut für Informatioinswissenschaft SII
    Ringstrasse / Pulvermühlestrasse 57
    CH-7004 Chur

    Phone: 081/ 286 39 02
    Fax: 081/ 286 24 00 /

    Gregor Dürrenberger

    Dr. Gregor Dürrenberger 

    Forschungsstiftung Strom und Mobilkommunikation
    c/o ETH Zürich, ETZ, K89
    Gloriastrasse 35
    CH-8092 Zürich

    Phone: 044/ 632 28 15
    Fax: 044/ 632 11 98

    Jürg Fröhlich

    Dr. Jürg Fröhlich 

    Fields at Work GmbH
    Sonneggstr. 60
    CH-8006 Zürich

    Phone: 044/ 382 38 31
    Fax: 044/ 632 11 98

    Anke Huss

    Dr. Anke Huss 

    University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
    Institute for Risk Assessment Sciences
    Yalelaan 2
    NL-3584 CM Utrecht

    Phone: 0031 - 30/ 253 8461
    Fax: 0031 - 30/ 253 9499

    Meike Mevissen

    Prof. Dr. Meike Mevissen 

    Universität Bern
    Abteilung Veterinär-Pharmakologie u. Toxikologie
    Postfach 8466
    Professor and Head, Division Vet.-Pharmacology & T
    Längasstrasse 124
    CH-3012 Bern

    Phone: 031/ 631 22 31
    Fax: 031/ 631 2630

    Primo Schär

    Prof. Dr. Primo Schär 

    Universität Basel
    Departement Biomedizin
    Institut für Biochemie und Genetik
    Mattengasse 28
    CH-4058 Basel

    Phone: 061/ 267 07 67
    Fax: 061/ 267 35 66

    Michael Siegrist

    Prof. Dr. Michael Siegrist 

    Präsident des Stiftungsrates
    ETH Zürich Institute for Environmental Decisions
    CHN J 76.3
    Universitätsstrasse 16
    CH-8092 Zürich ETH-Zentrum

    Phone: 044/ 632 63 21
    Fax: 044/ 632 10 29

    Administrative Office

    The Foundation Office is responsible for the daily activities of the FSM.

    It carries out and implements all business according to the Foundation goals and the decisions taken by the Foundation Board and the Scientific Committee.

    Specific duties concern: Organisation of the research calls and controlling of the funded research activities, communication of research results and the state of scientific knowledge in both expert and public contexts, research and consulting activities. For a detailed description of the duties of the Foundation Office see: Office, for a description of the offered services see: Services.